Weak Sauce About Nothing

Salsa débil sobre nada!

Gray Haired Beauties

OK, I think I’m having an Oprah moment here.
Time magazine featured an article last month or so about gray haired women and how there is a large majority of women who are secure and happy with their gray hair. I guess even the fashion world is taking notice and have given us sound-bytes saying “Gray is chic”


Would she seem as gorgeous without her gray?

There are a few women around the office who take care of themselves, some have their curves, some don’t; who have gray hair. I didn’t think much of it at first but after a while I noticed that it does give them a certain character and maybe it’s the whole “older woman” thing but to be honest, I don’t think they would be as sexy without their gray hair. I’m not trying to degrade them or belittle them by calling them “sexy.” I use the term with extreme reverence to their age, (young or old, yes some are prematurely gray, how hot is that?!) gender and for some of them, their life experience. Indeed, a few of them are in various levels of management and when they’re spoken of, it’s in the highest respect/regard, they just also happen to be VERY handsome women.


Young Woman with Gray Hair
(Check out the link; interesting story about this pic)

Now, I realize that there are ladies and some guys out there who freak out when they see gray. Let me tell you from an admirer’s perspective; it’s not a big deal. In fact, to me, it’s a little disappointing when one day you see someone with some gray, and the next day it’s a completely different color. For example: one of the ladies in the office I was talking about has this really naturally curly hair. She parts it on the side and has it a little longer than shoulder length. She wears these small frame glasses that fit the shape of her face well, and maybe this is a guy thing with the glasses, but they make her look really cute. Where she parts it, she has this gray shock that only makes the front part of her hair gray. (and only halfway down the total length) The rest of her hair is a light brown to blond. It looks really cool the way her gray seems to frame the top part of her face. She had it this way for as long as I can remember. Then, one day it was ALL light brown. It completely changed the dynamic of her appearance! The color looked natural and matched the rest of her hair, but she really didn’t look the same! I happened to be working on her computer at the time (I’m in I.T. at the office) and overheard her telling a co-worker that a “Friend” of hers told her that she should do something about it so she decided to dye it. Thankfully she didn’t like the way it looked and she reverted back to what I described above. Her female co-workers agreed that she looked cuter with her gray. I would show you some pictures of these lovely ladies, but I can’t think of a way to get said pictures without seeming like a perv or having HR called over to my cubicle. I suppose I could claim I’m writing a book on the subject, but I’m not. I’m just blogging about it!


Someone already tackled this subject anyway.

This becomes almost like the breast implant argument: (Disclaimer: I’m not trying to woo anyone out there, I’m just being honest. Besides, I have a girlfriend!) for me, I’d rather see women how they are naturally, how God intended them. I get turned off knowing that even a part of the girl is fake. If a guy needs you to have bigger breasts, maybe you don’t need the guy. Looks are fleeting. That’s why most old men go after young women; because the men are shallow, self centered, and can’t appreciate a good personality. At the risk of sounding like a “Curves” commercial; If you want implants, get them for YOURSELF, not some guy. Dye your hair for YOU, not for how people see you.

On the fence about going gray? check out this gallery of Gray sirens.

Other interesting articles on Gray: (check out some of the comments, we all can’t be wrong!)
http://www.oprah.com/beauty/hair/hair_omag_200710_gray.jhtml

http://www.womenshealthcaretopics.com/bn_hair_Gray_Hair.htm

http://blog.wardrobe911.com/2007/07/gray-hair-beaut.html

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53674854@N00/144943704/

March 18, 2008 - Posted by | Don't taze me bro, News, Philosophy, Weak Sauce About Nothing | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Great article. It’s so nice to hear a guys perspective.

    Comment by Anu Prestonia | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. hi,
    am so glad to c so much written about grey hair.
    i have just started,by not dyeing my hair for the past year and was looking for encouragement.
    i’m 41 and everyone i know says,to do this 10 years later and not now.
    am loving my grey!!!

    Comment by gerry | May 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. thanks dude you made my day. i am 44 with pretty silver and black hair that everybody compliments me on, and yet sometimes i still feel insecure. thanks again.

    Comment by lolo | June 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

